bottom

Dec
15
2014
Sugar for Thought
Author: Gnaana

It’s not big news, but it may not be something that most people are aware of: the sugar you eat (white or brown) may NOT be “vegetarian.”

According to PETA’s website, bone char (which comes from the bones of cows) is “is widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows the sugar cane to achieve its desirable white color.”

Apparently, brown sugar is no better.

So what’s the alternative? That good, old-fashioned “raw sugar” – turbinado sugar – that used to be the only sugar available in most Indian villages.

For more on the topic, as well an an annotated list of sugar companies who do and don’t use bone char, read more…

Share:

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.